## Minutes of Special Board Meeting-Canvass Friday, May 13, 2022 Board of Trustees Katy Independent School District

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Katy Independent School District was held on **Friday, May 13, 2022** in the Martha Lopez Aki ECI Project Tyke Center, 6301 South Stadium Lane, Katy, Texas, 77494. The Open Meeting began at 4:00 p.m. The following Board members were present: Greg Schulte, Lance Redmon, and Leah Wilson. By Law, for the purpose of canvassing election results, only two Board members are required to constitute a quorum. Duke Keller, Ashley Vann, Dawn Champagne and Rebecca Fox were absent.

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u> At 4:00 p.m. Board President Greg Schulte opened the meeting.
- 2. <u>Verification of Compliance with the Provisions of the Open Meetings Act.</u> Dr. Gregorski verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 et seq. of the Texas Government Code were met in accordance with the public notice of the meeting.
- 3. Action Items
  - 3.1 Consider Board approval of the canvass for the Saturday, May 7, 2022, Katy Independent School Board of Trustees Election. Mr. Justin Graham, Election Administrator presented. Moved by Leah Wilson seconded by Lance Redmon that the Board of Trustees canvasses the results of the May 7, 2022, Katy Independent School District Board of Trustees Election as reported by the Central Counting Committee and declares the winners of each position as follows: Position 1, Victor Perez with 5,730 votes; and Position 2, Lance Redmon with 4,485 votes.

Motion passed by a 3 to 0 vote.

Consider Board certification of the May 7, 2022, Katy Independent School District Board of Trustees Election for Position 1 and 2. Mr. Justin Graham, Election Administrator presented. Moved by Leah Wilson seconded by Lance Redmon that the Board of Trustees certifies the May 7, 2022 Katy Independent School District Board of Trustees Election for: Position 1, whereby Victor Perez was duly elected; and Position 2, whereby Lance Redmon was duly elected.

Motion passed by a 3 to 0 vote.

Adjournment

Board President Greg Schulte adjourned the meeting at 4:08 p.m.

Greg Schulte

President, Board of Trustees

Ashley Vann

Secretary, Board of Trustees

Approved: June 20, 2022